Double Whammy, my work post.

25 03 2009

last week's to-do listIt has taken me a week, but I’ve crossed off everything on my to-do list, with the exception of some new spreadsheets for future efficiency. I had sublists within the master list and it’s pretty much done. The highlighted part describes a new task that I am going to spend the afternoon working on. My load lightened significantly after a school district shut my event down. I am sad to have to abide by their wishes because it was going to be a very unique story about a music program in Music Appreciation Month! The teacher and music coordinator have been so enthusiastic to host the media and show off some of their new instructional tools. Needless to say, I had to honor their wishes and play by the rules. Hopefully we  will have all of the red tape clear for a prospective event next month, I’ll be sure to keep you posted!

There is so much red tape wrapped up policy and procedure. I wonder if and when people will ever address issues, head-on, and learn to communicate! In college, I imagined that crisis communication would be a hot business because there always seems to be negative media perpetuating stories to the masses. However, that is certainly not the case. Bad press continues to be bad press and companies and school districts alike do not always deter negative messaging. They are like my mom who would, sometimes, pretend I didn’t just tell her something bad that I did. Just because you (Mr. Big-Wig Whose-a-ma-call-it) did not issue a statement doesn’t mean it didn’t happen.

Today, I was told of a prospective client that did not want to work with us because we are based out of the US. My informant educated me on the recent bashing that has been circulated virally through online social networking. This group, we will call Client X, is overseas and fearful of the encompassing OSN. Excuse me, Lord Proprietor of Client X, I think it would be wise for you to act within the environment that throws your name around with such disdain. Why don’t you participate in the dialogue and throw some positive conversation into the mix. How do you expect to yield positive results if you fail to give positive experiences? I say, jump into the loop and stand up for yourself. Who are you, to deem us unworthy of your contract? Americans tweet better because it is a platform that was created in America! (Excuse the patriotic tone) Who would be better to fight your battles in the realm that you so passionately said you must be apart of? Just because Americans are not your target market?! American tourists tend to jet-set around the entire continent (country-to-country where you could be expanding your business) and your good name could encourage others to patron your business and spread your good business by word of mouth and viral marketing. Above all, online social media is a strength of our company and in this day and age we are not limited by our location. Most of our clients are not even within our own state!

Your hesitance makes me less likely to refer you to my European family and friends. Your backwards thinking is not very progressive in the current marketplace and I feel like you will only succumb to issuing press releases for all the days of your life! Discrimination is not right, it’s outdated!

(Stepping off of the soap box). I wasn’t trying to be dramatic, it was the Caramel Delight GSA cookies that I’ve been eating.

Today has been a day of post scripting. I am aware of the powers that be’s need for control. I understand the concept of controlling a message. I respect the decisions you have to make, but dissonance of fears must come from some creative Googling and research. We researched you and are equipped with the ability to approach you with a gameplan. Rather than being a stick in the mud, how about being a leaf in the wind? Let the wave of viral marketing set you free to embrace others who are being blown my social network tools. Together we can strategize for positive communication and spread the joyous news of you being amiable and service-oriented. I am going to have a pull a card from my mom, though, if you fail to seek out means of positive communication, for your own benefit, then I will have to believe you aren’t doing anything to improve your uncheerful disposition and that your quality of service for your customers will continue to create pandemonium for the rest of us chatting it up on Twitter!

Actions

Information

One response

27 03 2009
Sticky note for this week’s Double Whammy. « The Villes’s Blog

[…] for this week’s Double Whammy. 27 03 2009 Earlier this week, I gave an example of an un-social company. Well I found Jennifer Van Grove’s article on Mashable and thought how interesting that […]

Leave a Reply

